Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Canreef Aquatics Bulletin Board > General > DIY

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:15 PM
Chin_Lee's Avatar
Chin_Lee Chin_Lee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 2,184
Chin_Lee is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Chin_Lee
Default Herbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishytime View Post
Herbie......
Once you've had Herbie...... you'll never go back.
__________________
____________
If people don't die, it wouldn't make living important.
And why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:18 PM
christyf5's Avatar
christyf5 christyf5 is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 9,175
christyf5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by findingnemo1 View Post
Christy i'll talk to Craig tonite and see what we had on there. Cause that tank was in my living room in Sherwood park and i never heard it. And i know we did have a reducer on it as we'll.
You guys had 1.25" pipe on there. Its hell finding that stuff around here but oddly enough the 1.5" is pretty popular so I went with that. 2" just seemed like overkill to me but my original plans for the dart included a few elbows and PVC. I ended up switching to spaflex and reduced the elbows to just what is in the wavy sea so much more flow than I'd planned on I guess.
__________________
Christy's Reef Blog

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:20 PM
christyf5's Avatar
christyf5 christyf5 is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 9,175
christyf5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sphelps View Post
Durso standpipes should be one size bigger than the drain to work properly, so if you're using 1.5" pipe for the drain, your durso standpipe should be 2". This should fix your problem.

FYI many plumbing stores will sell PVC pipe by the foot.
Unfortunately we don't have many plumbing stores. We have Home Hardware. Home Depot doesn't sell it (they only sell the type for irrigation, tons of holes in it) and I'm not sure about Rona, they seem more like a "I need to hang a picture, do you have nails and an apartment sized hammer?" type of store, either that or we have a mini-Rona
__________________
Christy's Reef Blog

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:22 PM
christyf5's Avatar
christyf5 christyf5 is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 9,175
christyf5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chin_Lee View Post
Once you've had Herbie...... you'll never go back.
I'm of the understanding that in order to do a Herbie overflow you need two holes drilled. The overflow box doesn't have the space and the tank is already running so that ship has sailed.
__________________
Christy's Reef Blog

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:27 PM
sphelps's Avatar
sphelps sphelps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lyalta, East of Calgary
Posts: 4,777
sphelps is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christyf5 View Post
Unfortunately we don't have many plumbing stores. We have Home Hardware. Home Depot doesn't sell it (they only sell the type for irrigation, tons of holes in it) and I'm not sure about Rona, they seem more like a "I need to hang a picture, do you have nails and an apartment sized hammer?" type of store, either that or we have a mini-Rona
Well either way you should be using a 2" standpipe to match your 1.5" drain. You could always use 2" ABS which may be easier to find in your area, it also typically comes in 4 foot lengths.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:35 PM
sphelps's Avatar
sphelps sphelps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lyalta, East of Calgary
Posts: 4,777
sphelps is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christyf5 View Post
I'm of the understanding that in order to do a Herbie overflow you need two holes drilled. The overflow box doesn't have the space and the tank is already running so that ship has sailed.
You can do a herbie with a single large hole (2") but if you're having issues finding parts for a 2" standpipe then building a single drain herbie will be a much greater challenge. Here's a drawing for reference, if it's really something you want I could probably build it for you and ship it to you.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:37 PM
christyf5's Avatar
christyf5 christyf5 is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 9,175
christyf5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sphelps View Post
Well either way you should be using a 2" standpipe to match your 1.5" drain. You could always use 2" ABS which may be easier to find in your area, it also typically comes in 4 foot lengths.
Oh I always thought ABS was bad?
__________________
Christy's Reef Blog

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:41 PM
sphelps's Avatar
sphelps sphelps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lyalta, East of Calgary
Posts: 4,777
sphelps is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christyf5 View Post
Oh I always thought ABS was bad?
No, that's a common myth. ABS is completely potable and safe for aquariums. ABS is used in drains because it has a higher resistance to chemicals. Also most of the plastic parts already in your aquarium like pumps and magnet cleaners are made from ABS.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-20-2010, 03:45 PM
christyf5's Avatar
christyf5 christyf5 is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 9,175
christyf5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh! Well thats great info!

So I'm at a bit of a loss with the photo you posted of the single herbie. Why does it have 1.25" pipe in it? Does the 1.25" pipe go all the way through, how is it affixed in the 2" pipe? And whats going on with the gate valve?

Sorry for all the questions, apparently I need more caffeine
__________________
Christy's Reef Blog

My 180 Build

Every electronic component is shipped with smoke stored deep inside.... only a real genius can find a way to set it free.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-20-2010, 04:18 PM
sphelps's Avatar
sphelps sphelps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lyalta, East of Calgary
Posts: 4,777
sphelps is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christyf5 View Post
So I'm at a bit of a loss with the photo you posted of the single herbie. Why does it have 1.25" pipe in it? Does the 1.25" pipe go all the way through, how is it affixed in the 2" pipe? And whats going on with the gate valve?
The 1.25" pipe goes all the way through (it's one piece) and acts as the secondary or back up drain. It's supported inside the 2" pipe by the bushing.

The primary drain is created by the 2" pipe. Water flows in between the 2" and 1.25" pipe and then through the gate valve. The gate valve is used to match the flow rate to the return pump and adjust the water level in the overflow box to just below the top of the 1.25" pipe. It's just like a standard herbie but the back up drain is inside the primary.

Make sense?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.